AAPM Memoriam – Dr Libby Brateman

Libby Brateman, PhDDr Libby Brateman, Emeritus Professor of Radiology, was honored at the 2019 American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) annual meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

A special session was given in honor of Dr Brateman, who passed away in May 2018, titled “In Memoriam of Libby Brateman: Education, Licensure, Guidance, and Mammography – Enhancing the Recognition of the Medical Physics Profession.”

UF Alumna, Dr Marlene McKetty (PhD 1978) gave a beautiful memorial of Dr Brateman’s life and shared many wonderful pictures. Other speakers included Debbie Gilley with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), Bob Pizzutiello with the Riverside Company, and several UF Medical Physics Alumnae, including Penny Butler (MS, 1976), and Dr Stephanie Leon (PhD 2012/MS 2007).

We miss Dr Brateman every day, but her commitment and dedication to Medical Physics will continue to inspire new generations of Medical Physicists for many years to come.

AAMP Memoriam